7 Mile Long Run

This week I started my training for the Navy Pier Perfect 10 (miler)…. Which meant I needed to get in some sort of a long run and I started with 7 miles.

Monday, I went for a 3 mile run followed by a legs strength training workout. I wanted to do more strength training this week and didn’t think doing legs after a 7 mile run would go over well. Then again… doing legs the day before a 7 mile is not exactly smart either…

A lesson I quickly learned on Tuesday and my legs became increasingly more sore as the day went on. Part of which, I am sure, is due to the fact that I have a desk job. But the other part is due to the really good workout I gave my legs the day before. I briefly considered moving the run to a different day but since the weather forecast called for warmer temps as the week went on I decided against it.

I got home from work and changed into my running gear and headed out. I knew immediately this was going to be tough…. the legs felt like dead weight

Earlier in the day, I had mapped out a course. Since it has been years since I have done anything over 6.50 miles, I had no idea how to run so that I got in the 7 miles without doing one of those last minute mini loops just to add on an extra tenth of a mile… something I have done far more often than I probably should.

Anywho – I was going to run north towards Addison and the tennis courts there then take the paths on the back end over there before heading back south. Hitting the overpass at North Ave and then running the loop around the baseball fields in the park before taking the path north again. I knew I would hit the 7 miles once I returned to Fullerton or only have a little more left to go but I would still walk a few blocks home as a cool down.

The legs were hating me and I felt far more sore than I should have been feeling. I stopped at water fountains like I usually do but made sure I didn’t linger too long. I knew doing so would make my legs feel worse. Once I passed Fullerton and was heading south towards North Ave I was at 5 miles. By now I was hurting and I know that I slowed down significantly. To top it all off my stomach wasn’t thrilled with me either.

I reached the overpass and despite the fact that the original plan was to run over it, I just could handle the incline of the overpass so I walked over it instead but stopped the watch while I did so. I have this weird thing about not counting walking miles for a training run… Just me

I stopped at the water fountain by the overpass but sipping water made my stomach feel far more full than it should be. I had about a mile and a quarter to go and I considered bailing here. But I told myself that I had gone this far so I ran (probably more like jogged) around the baseball fields, looping back around towards LSD and the parking lot along the back end of the park where there is also a running path. Took a sip of water and looked at my watch – Less than a mile.

I was miserable. I was starting to feel ill since I knew the blood sugar was going down. But I knew all I had to do was run to Fullerton and then I would be done.

Once I hit 6.75 miles, I had to stop. I felt so horrible. My legs were hurting and I just wanted to be done. I stood in place debating my options. I could walk the rest… counting walking miles for the first time ever in a training run. I could bail completely and finish the run there. Or I could run the last quarter mile.

I seriously considered the first and second options. But I also knew that in an hour I would be utterly pissed if I did that.

So I ran the last quarter mile all the while begging my watch to roll over to 7.00 miles. As soon as I was at Cannon and Fullerton my watch hit 7.00 and I stopped.

I walked the few blocks home and my legs felt like jello. The rest of me just felt like crawling into bed… I really wasn’t feeling the greatest.

By no means would I consider this a good run. I was miserable. The last two miles were complete hell. Stubbornness is what got me through

Now I just hope the 7.50 mile run goes better next week…

7 thoughts on “7 Mile Long Run

  1. I’m sorry you felt so bad after your run…..but you did it!! You didn’t qut and got those 7 miles in. I would call that a success. I’m super proud of you. :))

  2. Pingback: 3rd Quarter Running Round Up + CEP Compression Short Sock Giveaway

  3. Pingback: Training: September 23rd – 29th | It Never Gets Easier - You Just Get Better

  4. Pingback: 7.50 Mile Long Run | It Never Gets Easier - You Just Get Better

Leave a comment