Training: September 23rd – 29th

Sept 23-29

Monday – 3.10 Miles

I hadn’t planned on doing a 5K as a training run but as I was nearing the end of the my run, I decided to go for it. I wanted to see if I could beat 31:30. Luckily I made this decision when it was still easy for me to tack on a little extra distance without having to do some weird loop. Needless to say, I was thrilled when I checked my time for the run and saw that I did break 31:30… Now… if only I can manage to do that during a race… After the run I did a full legs strength training workout. It briefly occurred to me that I should do this workout on a different day since I was planning to do my long run on Tuesday… But who wants to be smart?

Tuesday – 7.00 Miles

To say that this run sucked would be a HUGE understatement. I wrote a full re-cap of the run last week. I really hope this is not an omen for all of my longer training runs for this little training cycle. Although, I definitely won’t make the mistake of doing a full legs workout the day before again. Despite how horrendous this run was for me. I was still pleasantly surprised at the pace…. even more so when I finally looked at the splits for the run. I was pretty consistent on the pace the entire time. This was a complete shock because I thought I was going much slower the last two miles and I would have sworn that the last half mile of the run was at a “barely running” type of pace. Running by feel isn’t always accurate and this run proved that.

Wednesday – Rest

After the horrendous run, my legs were toast. I woke up to an email from Maureen asking if I wanted to go to a premiere showing of a new show on showtime. Since I was rather bummed about the run the night before and my legs were done, I jumped at the opportunity to blow off my Wednesday run and move it to a different day. To ever so slightly make up for it, I did walk there and back for about a total of two miles… which I think helped to break up the remainder of the lactic acid in my legs.

Thursday – 3.00 Miles

I was ready to go when I started this run. The day off not only made me feel better about training in general but my legs no longer hated me. So I set out on my normal 3ish mile route. Nothing exciting to report. Part of me wanted to go that extra .10 miles to see what my 5K time would be but I decided to stop at 3. I then saw my time and knew that if I had tacked on that .10 miles I would have beat my 31:30 goal.

Friday – 2.02 Miles

I headed over to Target after work to pick up a few things. The Halloween isle proved dangerous as I found way too many cute decorations. Once I got home, I head out for my run. Originally, I was going to do 3 miles but I really wasn’t feeling the run at all. So I decided to knock it down to two miles and try to negative split the run. I succeeded Mile 1 was 10:16 and Mile 2 was 9:38. I then spent the evening putting up my new (and old) Halloween decorations.

Saturday – Rest

There was no plan for a run and instead the plan was to clean and be productive. I did manage to go to the grocery store and clean my bathroom but then I took a two hour nap thus ending my productivity.

Sunday – Rest

I managed to sleep in later than I normally would. After my coffee and scrambled eggs with toast, I took another stab at the productivity thing. I got laundry done and made my lunch for the week… all while watching the Bears lose… I took a short nap after my burst of activity and then spent the rest of the day on my couch being a bum.

I am pretty happy with my training for the week. I have a 7.50 mile run on tap for my “long run” for the week, which I plan to do today after work. I also have a 10K race on Sunday. So outside of that my runs are going to be shorter this week. I am planning to hit the gym a bit more to get some strength training in and while I am there I might do some speed work on the treadmill.

Hope everyone has a great week!

2 thoughts on “Training: September 23rd – 29th

Leave a Reply

