The Training Plan

I know I have stated multiple times that I don’t follow a training plan. I run much better with a simpler goal like running 4 days a week. However, with the races I have on my schedule for the upcoming months (and year for that matter), I do need to follow some sort of a plan.

In January 2015, Eric and I plan to head down to Disney World to tackle Marathon weekend… well… more to the point, Eric will tackle the full weekend and run all 4 races whereas I am not willing to tackle a marathon. So I am going to take on the 5K, 10K and half marathon.

That’s right folks… I will take on a half marathon again which means I need to train for the sucker.

But lets back up a bit here… I have over a year until that race but there are PLENTY of other races to worry about before then. First up if the Navy Pier Perfect 10 (miler).

You all know the story of how I decided to sign up for Soldier Field two days before the race when my longest run to date had been a 10K (and one that did not go well to top it off) and the race magically went really well for me… so much so that I am still a bit shocked and it ranks up there as one of my top race experiences for the year.

Shortly after the race, I decided to sign up for the Navy Pier Perfect 10. I had signed up for the race in the inaugural year but had to take a DNS because I was sick. And last year the thought of taking on a 10 mile race was too much to handle because I had too much other stuff going on in my life (We will get to that stuff eventually).

I want to actually train for this race. I know I can finish the race so that’s not why I am doing this. I want to train to see if I can better my time from Soldier Field… and I am not looking for a huge improvement either. But even more so, I want to train for this race to give myself a better base. I have an overall “plan” for next year to prep myself for January 2015 (more on that later… much later…) and part of that includes keeping Soldier Field and Navy Pier on the race schedule.

In the past I have dialed back the running a LOT through the holidays and I know I won’t be able to do that next year so I need to practice keeping the running up through the holidays this year. And hopefully the 10Ks I have on the schedule for December and January already will help with that.

Now – this is not a huge plan that I am going to follow through race day. The basis of the plan is still sticking to running at least 4 times a week. But I need to throw in longer runs and I don’t want to increase mileage too much in any given week either.

The plan is this – weekly long run and then at least three other runs per week, some of which will be races. I started the long run with a 7 miler this week (you can read about that tomorrow) and I intend to increase my long run by half a mile each week. That way if something happens one week, I don’t have a huge jump the next week. I also intend to try to keep my base (daily run) around 3 miles.

Now that’s not to say that if one day I am not really feeling like a 3 mile run that I have to do it because the “plan” calls for it. No… the plan is more of a rough guideline. I have these races and I should do this longer run. Outside of that I just needed to figure out how to increase the weekly mileage but not increase it to much. Essentially, in a given week, I need to run at least this but not really go over this sort of guideline.

It has been a LONG time since I have trained for distance so this should be interesting… stay tuned

2 thoughts on “The Training Plan

  1. Have you thought about a day of intervals, when I have been fit that worked really well for me. It can be a short session, warm up and two or three sets of HIT and then warm down, stretch and go home. The best thing about it is that you get a reward by spending less time training that day (although you feel it for the rest of the day).

    • Sometimes I do intervals but overall not my favorite. And when doing a distance race, there is something to be said about the mental confidence you gain in training from the long run.

Leave a Reply

