Weekly Training Report: May 4th – 10th

May 4-10

Monday – Rest

Mom was still in town so when I got home from work we headed up to our favorite restaurant for dinner. It was yummy 🙂

Tuesday – 3.09 / 29:42

It was foggy and chilly running on the LFT. The wind going north was brutal but luckily it wasn’t one of those of days where I was always running into the wind. The week didn’t look promising weather wise so I wasn’t sure how often I would be able to run outside. So I took advantage of it while I could. After the run, I did a lot of lunges… I think I did 50 per leg… but of course I didn’t count or write it down…

Wednesday – 6.01 / 59:26

Living about half a mile from the LFT, it is usually as cool at my place as it on the LFT however, today was a day where it got noticeably cooler the closer I got to the lake. There was easily a 5 degree difference between my home and the lakefront. But despite the dense fog along the lake, I took advantage of less wind and cooler temps and decided to put in 6 miles.

Thursday – 2.02 / 19:43

This run was brutal. Doing a lot of lunges and then doing a longer run the day after wasn’t the smartest plan since my body is a tad out of shape right now. Added to the warmer weather which I am not acclimated to yet and I just felt beat up during this run.

Friday – Rest

As it was getting closer to time to leave work, I checked the weather, as I often do if I plan to run and saw that there were some pretty severe storms moving quickly towards the city. Part of me hoped I would be able to get home and run in time before they hit. However, a check of the weather once I was on the bus told me that I would be lucky just to get home in time. In the end, I made it home about 10 minutes before it started to pour. So it ended up being a night on my couch catching up on TiVo.

Saturday – 2.00 / 20:00

Everything about this run sucked. I took it to the indoor track because the weather was awful and no matter how hard I tried, I could not seem to make my legs go faster than a 10:00 pace. I was rather angry with the run when I was done so I decided the smart and logical thing to do would be to get in some speed work… because this makes perfect sense. Taking advantage of the track, I sprinted the straights and walked the curves. Surprisingly, I was able to sprint… go figure. After the track work, I headed downstairs to get in some strength training. Definitely should have increased the weight though because it felt a little too easy.

Sunday – Rest

I had the best intentions to run but I was just too tired. The thought of dealing with the awful was completely unappealing as was the thought of hiking it to the gym to run two or three miles. A nap sounded so much more fun… so that is exactly what I did.

~~~~~~~

Despite not having the best week of running, I was glad that I at least got in a longer run for the week. But I also came to the realization that I am not going to be where I need to be to go for my time goal at SF10. Unless I have one of those truly magical race days where everything lines up perfectly, it is just not going to happen… so that’s been making the motivation to run more difficult.

Leave a Reply

