Review: Sproing

Remember back in February when I mentioned I took a class at Sproing and that I would post about it? Yea… so I am a bad blogger and never got around to writing about it… until now

First I want to say that though I received the class free of charge, I was not asked to write this post. All opinions are my own.

Second thing I need to say… this was not my first Sproing class. I also took one back in June. I had intended to write about that experience (and thought I had) but apparently never got around to it… oops

Back in June the class totally kicked my butt. I had run a quick two miles right after work and then killed a little bit of time before heading to the class. The class totally killed me. I could barely keep up and had to modify almost everything. The week following the class I was so insanely sore.

This time around, I decided to run 3 miles on the indoor track, then do an upper body strength training session before heading to the class. I put in a solid 2+ hours at the gym before heading to the class. I knew what to expect out of the class and knew there would be some muscle work involved but also knew it would be more leg intensive which is why I decided to focus on the upper body.

I also fully expected to be insanely sore for at least a week following the class.

I was excited to see my fellow bloggers and to take this class again. Part of me knew I was possibly getting in over my head but I also didn’t entirely care.

My first surprise when the class started is that I was actually able to keep up. Sure it was challenging but I wasn’t failing to do… well… pretty much all of it. There was a little bit of struggling and I had to push myself but I didn’t feel like the whole thing was kicking my butt.

For the entire class, I just felt like I was getting a really awesome workout… instead of having my butt handed to me on a silver platter. The most important thing that I noticed is that I was actually able to push myself throughout instead of feeling like I was failing the entire time.

Needless to say, I was quite tired after the class but I was also feeling good. But I also went to bed fully expecting to be very sore the next day.

When I woke up the next day, I was sore but not nearly as sore as I had been back in June. Hell… back in June walking was quite painful and this time, I was just sore. The good kind of sore. The king that tells you worked hard but you didn’t kill yourself or do something really stupid.

I wondered if I would get more sore as the day went on or I would just feel it all hit my like a ton of bricks the following day. Second day soreness is usually worse for me. And yes, I did feel a little more sore the second day but it was no where near what I had been expecting after my June experience.

I was THRILLED. This time around I was more fit… a LOT more fit. The workout before the class and during the class proved that me. All the work I had been putting in for months was paying off.

That’s something I love… You can’t always see the effects of training but you can definitely feel them.

The class itself was awesome and I would recommend that people give it a try. It’s a lot of fun and high energy. Best of all, it takes some of the impact out of this whole running thing. Definitely going to try to go back again

 

Leave a Reply

