Weekly Training Report: March 16th – 22nd

Mar 16-22

Monday – 4.12 / 39:04

My week started off rough… very rough. All personal stuff which I am not going to air here but let’s just say it was bad. I did manage to get out and enjoy the warm weather. I even wore shorts and a tank top and wasn’t cold at all. But the wind was pretty brutal… definitely one of those days where it didn’t matter the direction you were running, it was into the wind. Also wished that the water fountains had been turned on because I definitely more water than I was carrying with me. Thank goodness for the one water fountain that stays on year round.

Tuesday – Rest

Had a lot of stuff I had to deal with… partially in relation to some of what happened on Monday. I also really needed to get my taxes done and I figured since I was already bailing on the run, might-as-well at least be productive.

Wednesday – 4.11 / 37:45

Never intended to run this fast, but I did. I am pretty sure the last time I ran this fast was back in October. After some not so fast running in November and December, it is good to know I still have some speed in me.

Thursday – 3.01 / 27:31

I was happy with the pace of the run. I don’t really plan to race for time anytime soon but I still need to put in some work to get there. Didn’t feel like I was running this fast so that was good but I was bummed that it was overcast…. and cooler…

Friday – Rest

It was cold and windy and I was exhausted. My fun (note sarcasm) Monday made for bad sleep conditions for a good portion of the week… and it had nothing to do with what I needed to deal with on Tuesday… had to do with the other thing that happened. But the lack of sleep was catching up to me. I decided to bail on the run and see if I was feeling better on Saturday. At least I managed to get laundry done….

Saturday – Rest

Yea so it was more windy and more chilly and I just wasn’t feeling it. I managed to get a ton of errands and more laundry (yes, I had that much) done. But there was no run. I was still feeling way more tired than I should have been and I just didn’t have the mental energy to fight.

Sunday – Rest

Everything happens in 3s right? I woke up with a head cold. So not what I needed but it explains the exhaustion for the past two days. Needless to say the majority of my day was spent on the couch.

~~~~~~~

Definitely not a good week of training. The truth is, I am feeling overwhelmed with the running. I was starting to feel like I HAD to run instead of WANTING to run. Which is not the best frame of mind for me. Perhaps this little head cold came at a good time. If there is anything to get me over the feeling of HAVING to run versus WANTING to run, it’s not being able to run due to something out of my control. This means I need to re-vamp the training plan a bit though….

2 thoughts on “Weekly Training Report: March 16th – 22nd

  1. Sorry to hear about the “personal stuff” and the head cold. Hopefully, you can put both of those things behind you soon and start wanting to run again! 🙂

Leave a Reply

