Weekly Training Report: February 9th – 15th

Feb 9-15

Monday – 3.00 / 29:35

Started the week of training off with stairs with my crew at work. After not being able to join in the previous week, I was happy to get back to the stairs with them. That night I was very happy with my run. I didn’t want to push the pace at all and continue with my running comfortably thing so was pretty happy with the results of the run. Once I was done with the run, I headed over to the weights area for leg day. I feel like I am starting to get stronger so thats a good thing. Pretty good start to the week.

Tuesday – 3.00 / 29:45

Going into this workout, I knew I had a triple day ahead of me. I was going to Sproing with the bloggers. But I also didn’t want to give up the run for the day or my strength training. I knew I would be able to fit it all in if I timed it right… and if I didn’t get held up at work. Since I left work on time, I went for it. Took it easy on the run since I had about 3 hours of working out ahead of me and didn’t see the point in laying it all out there at the start. But even given that, I was happy with the run. Then it was off to the weights for upper body. I shortened my rest time between sets a little to make sure I was able to fit everything in with the time I had left. Luckily, I had time to roll out and stretch really well before heading to the train (my gym is near the L) and going to Old Town to meet up with the Bloggers at Sproing. More on that workout later in the week.

Wednesday – 3.00 / 29:29

Was pleasantly surprised when I woke up and didn’t feel insanely sore. I was sore, for sure, but not overly so and part of the soreness was likely delayed onset from Monday’s workout. Despite not being too sore, I was tired. So I decided to stick with just a run for the evening. Without planning to, I ran faster and was amused that my time was 29:29

Thursday – 3.00 / 29:15

At work, we were able to fit in a last minute stair session which was awesome. In my mind, I decided to throw in an extra strength training session on Friday. So when I got to the gym, I did my run and was shocked at my pace because I didn’t feel like I had pushed the pace at all. Since I was adding in an extra strength training session the following day, I opted for leg day. I felt pretty good but was also feeling fatigued. I think the third workout on Tuesday did me in…

Friday – Rest

Yea… so despite telling myself that I was going to run three miles and then strength train, I was honestly exhausted. To add to it I was having female issues (cramps) and with an extreme wind chill, I had very little motivation to haul it to the gym for anything. Instead, I was a lazy bum on my couch and it felt great.

Saturday – Rest

I had a scheduled hair cut first thing in the morning and since my salon is most of the way to my preferred Whole Foods, I decided to walk my errands for the day. Of course, I had dressed in lots of layers due to the wind chill and the forecast for falling temps. This backfired because I ended up being way too hot the entire time. The extreme wind made carrying things rather unpleasant… and sweating like crazy wasn’t making the experience any more enjoyable. When I got home, I started to do a little cleaning. I had a couple of hours to kill before my date arrived to take me out for Valentine’s Day πŸ™‚ But then I tried to get into the shower to get ready and had NO water pressure… there was an issue with the pipes in the building and they working on fixing it. Joy… so I did the best I could. Thank goodness my hair is short and I was able to wash it in my kitchen sink (which had normal water pressure). Not ideal but oh well…. Dinner was awesome and I had a really good time πŸ™‚

Sunday – Rest

Yea… ok… so I was a lazy bum again… for the most part. It was snowing and very cold and I really just didn’t want to do much. I managed to get my shower fixed (I had a clogged filter) and found out I needed a new filter for my sink (was told I would have to wait another day for that fix). And that was pretty much my day… Sometimes I just don’t want to be an adult :-p

~~~~~~~

Not an ideal week of training since I did bail on one of my runs… but I did get in an extra workout on Tuesday so hopefully it evens out. This week will also be a shortened workout week since mommy gets in town on Thursday!

3 thoughts on “Weekly Training Report: February 9th – 15th

  1. Nice training week. Sometimes taking an unplanned day off is just what the doctored ordered. If I train too hard one week, I usually pay for it the following week by being tired and slower.

  2. Pingback: Review: Sproing | It Never Gets Easier - You Just Get Better

Leave a Reply

