Month in Review: December 2014

December 2014

Let’s just say that December was hardly the month I planned to have. Running in the dark and adjusting to a new schedule was starting to get to me. Not to mention everything that goes into the Holiday season with mulitple parties to attend. I even got a slight head cold which told me I needed to slow down a bit. But I made the best of it.

Toward the end of the month, I started to do stairs with some co-workers. It is a daily thing but I am not always able to join. Sometimes I do actually have to work :-p It has been fun joining the group though and I am really enjoying it. Definitely does not hurt to get in a little extra exercise during the work day.

Dec 2014 Short

To put it mildly, I started to slack on training. Once I started to realize that my body needed a little more rest than it was getting I started to really think about my goals for the beginning of 2015 and the races I had coming up. The reality is that I have NO goal races on my calendar until the end of May. Yes, I have this little series of races in January but I NEVER planned or intended to run them for time. I know I can finish the races and since time is not my concern then I don’t really need to kill myself in training right now. It might hurt a bit, don’t get me wrong, but I can survive that.

Once I realized that, I stopped stressing about running and just did what I could when I could. However, that didn’t stop me from giving myself a little tester. One day I decided that I really wanted to get in 8 miles. It has been a few months since I have done a training run by myself… and really, the last training run I did by myself was the 8 miler I did at the end of September where I completely freaked out. So I really wanted to see if I would freak out again. I am happy to report that I did not.

Dec 2014 YtY

Despite my less than stellar month, I still managed to get in some decent mileage. As such, I ended the month with my highest ever December Mileage. So definitely please with that.

YtY 2014

In addition to having my highest ever December mileage, I also had my highest mileage for the year. I managed to get in just over 700 miles for the year. It was a lofty goal that I had set myself at the beginning of the year that I was never sure if I would be able to hit but as soon as I noticed how close I was, I made sure to get in the miles.

Avg Dec 2014

Even though there were less running days, I did make those days count by trying to keep the mileage a little higher. Even though it would have been smarter to keep the average above 5 miles, I am happy with 4 miles. Also glad that I was able to keep my pace under 10:00. I have definitely noticed that I am slower in the extreme cold so it is good that I was still able to keep my pace at a decent clip.

~~~~~~~~~~~~

 I look back at my December and though I know I started to slack, I also know that I put in some good work on the days I did run. I am not the runner I was last year and I am certainly not the runner I was years ago. With that knowledge, I am excited for January!

Leave a Reply

