Weekly Training Report: December 15th – 21st

Dec 15-21

Monday – 2.00 Miles

It was raining when I left work. Though I am ok with running in the rain, I didn’t think doing so in 40ish degree weather the week after getting a cold would be smart. So I headed to my gym to run there instead. It has been several months since I have been back to my gym and it has definitely been some time since I have run indoors. I knew that the run would be more challenging mentally but I also knew it was the best I was going to get. I decided to run only 2 miles instead of the 5 I had been doing (or trying to do) daily. I was pleasantly surprised in that the run wasn’t as mentally brutal as I had expected. I was even more shocked when I finished the run and discovered that I had the entire thing at a sub 9:00 pace. That was a definite first

Tuesday – Rest

Went into the week knowing that I would be taking Tuesday as a rest day. We had a team dinner to chat outside the office and just have a good time. The food was incredible and I felt incredibly content being surrounded by my new co-workers. It was an awesome evening!

Wednesday – Rest

One of the positives about all of my meal prep (I will eventually do a post on that) is that I eat healthy 95% of the time. I rarely out so I always know what is in my food. The flip side of this is that I since I rarely eat out, my body isn’t used to it. Despite the food being yummy and not feeling I had too much eat, my body apparently did not appreciate the decadent meal. My stomach felt off the entire day and I slept horrendously the night before. Essentially, I was miserable the entire day. I went home and did not run and was out cold by about 8:30 that night.

Thursday – 3.36 Miles

After a good night of sleep my body was back to normal. I opted to run without a worrying about mileage. I also am really over running in the dark. After 3ish miles I was good and decided to head home. I felt decent but also felt a bit dehydrated so didn’t want to push it. But overall it was a decent run and I was surprised at my pace.

Friday – Rest

Made plans for the night to go to Zoo Lights. And since it had been an insane day at work I was much in need of alcohol. Luckily, I was not the only one who felt that way. After Zoo Lights, we grabbed a couple drinks and some food and chatted.

Saturday – 3.32 Miles

In my mind I was running 5 miles but my body didn’t want to get out of bed or off my couch. Eventually I managed to run my errands but still wasn’t feeling up to running. I also forgot to grab a water bottle before heading out for the errands and didn’t remember to purchase a bottle of water at the store. Feeling incredibly thirsty, I resigned myself to not running. But by the time I got home, I was feeling guilty. So I downed some water and headed out. I was definitely dehydrate because I was feeling it way too much after one of my loops. I managed to tack on a little bit of hill work but was just done.

Sunday – Rest

The parents were scheduled to arrive at 1 so I figured I would be able to get 5 miles in before they got here. While drinking my coffee, I got a text that they would get here at 12:30… Which meant the run was likely out of the question. By the time I was done with coffee and eating breakfast (if I start drinking coffee I have to eat before working out) I had barely an hour to get in a run… and that is not including time to change into running gear, wait for satellites to locate and then shower post run. This was also assuming they wouldn’t get here early…. so I made the decision to bail, which ended up being a good thing because they were knocking on my door at 12:25.

~~~~~~~

Yea… Not a good training week at all. At this point, I am not too worried about training. Since I am not running Disney for time, I don’t need to worry too much. Instead, I just need to be prepared for being a little more sore than I want to be. With the parents in town this week, I don’t plan on running much. I might try to get in one run during the week and then I will run after they leave but it won’t be high mileage this week either. Still need to think ahead to the new year and how I want to train… all in good time…

Leave a Reply

