Weekly Training Report: December 8th – 14th

Dec 8 - 14

Monday & Tuesday – Rest

I spent both days feeling incredibly run down and was worried that I was starting to come down with a cold so I opted to take my rest days at the beginning of the week. It was also cold and raining so I had very little motivation to push through and run anyway. But I still managed to be mildly productive and made a decent dent in my holiday cards

Wednesday & Thursday – Rest

Despite resting Monday and Tuesday to try to avoid getting sick, I ended up getting sick anyway. I had a nice little head cold and was beyond tired. Both nights were spent with hot steam and getting acquainted with my couch. I was also in bed and out cold early (even for me) both nights… Stupid body

Friday – Rest

I was feeling much better and more like myself but still had a bit of a sore throat. I knew running outside would not be smart so I was thinking about a short run at the gym. But when I got home my couch was calling my name and I felt like another rest day would mean I was all better the next day. So in the end, reading on my couch won and I went to bed early.

Saturday – 3.35 Miles

My last extra day of rest was what I needed… I no longer had a sore throat. I jumped into my morning activities of Haircut, Errands and the grocery store. Then I managed to some Christmas present wrapping… before Christmas Eve so I am way ahead of the game here. Then my friend Michael stopped by for a run, Zoo Lights and Hockey watching. The plan was to run 4 miles but since I was setting a bit too quick of a pace and thus killing Michael, we cut the run a little short. We did run into Eric at one of the water fountains though so he joined us on the last little leg of the run. Zoo lights was a lot of fun as was hockey watching… even though the Blackhawks lost. As much as I wanted to stay up later I was crashing fast at the bar and knew I was done for the night. I was in bed and out cold by about 9:30

Sunday – 3.15 Miles

Despite a good night of sleep, I woke up feeling like all I wanted to do was continue to sleep. I attempted to fall back asleep for about 45 minutes before I gave up and got out of bed. But the feeling of needing more sleep wasn’t going away. My original plan was to run 7 miles but it was quickly becoming evident that my body wasn’t up for that. After I ate breakfast, I ended up falling back asleep on my couch for about an hour. When I woke up, I was actually pretty content with a decision to not run but I still needed to do my meal prep for the week. Once that was done, I felt like I could manage a run of some sort. I didn’t think 7 miles was going to happen but knew I could manage at least 2. I still wanted the 7 miles and REALLY wanted 5 miles but I was struggling through the entire run and barely managed to get to 3 miles. Since I felt horrible for the entire run I was shocked that the run ended up being at a sub 10:00 pace because I had fully expected to be closer to a 10:30 pace. Minor victories.

~~~~~~~

The week was definitely a wash as far as training goes. Even though it wasn’t a terrible cold, I could tell it was my body’s way of telling me to slow down and take it easy since I had been running around like a crazy person with little to no down time lately. But it is a new week and I have a mini plan of attack

 

4 thoughts on “Weekly Training Report: December 8th – 14th

  1. First, glad you got over that cold! Second, and I went all the way to the first post of your blog for this but couldn’t find it, what are you using for your running log? It looks like really nice and I’d love to start using something similar. Thanks!

    • It is my own specially created Excel. I am not a fan of anything out there for tracking so I created my own logs (and I have a ton)… I also did a “I may be obsessed with excel” post amd definitelt need to do another one 🙂

  2. Sorry to hear you were sick. You are probably right that your body was probably telling you to slow down. It’s good you listened, as that’s best in the long run! 🙂

Leave a Reply

