Life

Some of you may have noticed that, though I have been updating you all on my running, I have kept rather silent on the personal life aspect.

Even though this is technically a running blog, I do enjoy sharing personal tidbits.

However, when I got laid off, I threw everything into my running. It was my outlet and I felt like it was the only thing I could really control. Despite seeing a few people while being unemployed, for the most part, I didn’t see very many people. I may have had the time but I lacked the funds. And really, I didn’t enjoy the conversations that centered around how unsuccessful the job search was.

My life became running and thus, I really didn’t have much else to share.

I think I threw myself into running because I felt like it was all I had. If I lost my running, I would have lost everything. An over-dramatization, obviously. But, at the same time, I sort of felt that way.

I never identified myself by my career. It was simply something I did. Granted, I did love my job but it was not my identifying factor. But, I have always identified myself as a fiscally responsible adult… and having a job is linked to that. So lose the job and lose your financial security and I guess you can say I had a bit of an identity crisis.

Granted, being fiscally responsible was also a saving grace because I knew what I needed to do to survive financially and made sure I was only spending money on absolutely necessary items.

But I still had my identity as a runner and I clung to it with everything I had left.

So, what is going on in my life? Well, the biggest development is that I got a new job! Admittedly, I struggled with how to announce this. Then again, I struggled with how to announce I lost my job as well… so at least I am consistent.

One of the most important things for me in my career is my happiness factor. I know too many people who hate their job and it pours into their personal lives. Being happy has always been a high priority for me and since I had a job I loved, I felt like I had it all so-to-speak. This happiness factor is the main reason why I never would have left my old job. Why would you leave something you love?

This is something that I really thought about a lot while looking for a new job. I had a lot of response to positions that I could tell would not be a good fit for me because I would be miserable the entire time.

But of course, I also had a few other things that I was looking for in a new job. The longer I went being unemployed, the more I started to wonder if I would ever find something that was a good fit for me. When a friend reached out to me that the company she works for is hiring, I was really hopeful.

A week later I was offered the job. I knew about 15 minutes into the interview that the people I would be working with would be a good fit for me. Not only that, I knew the position and the company would be a good fit for me so I was ecstatic when I got the offer and accepted.

I started on the 10th and a week later, I still feel like this is a perfect fit for me.

Throughout the entire process of being unemployed, I didn’t so much doubt my ability to find a new job, but I did doubt my ability to find a job I would love.

If you love what you do then you never work a day in your life.

4 thoughts on “Life

  1. Congrats on your new job! Finding a good fit is hard but oh so important. I started a new job last month myself, and it’s made all the difference.

    I clung to running during times of high stress too. Not because it was all I had, but because it was an awesome distraction that was really easy to throw myself into. I think it’s there for everyone at different times and for different reasons.

Leave a Reply

