Weekly Training Report: September 22nd – 28th

Sept 22-28

Monday – 7.52 Miles

I was anxious about this run all day. I am still dealing with the residual mental struggle I faced when I had the nausea issues. Last year at this time, I maxed out at 7.50 miles and never made it past that. Despite having completed three 10 mile races, the last time I did a training run that was more than 7.50 miles was April of 2011… thats quite a long time. Part of me contemplated just adding on the extra half mile to get it over with but I was fatiguing too much by the end of the run and I knew I didn’t have it me for the day. The run went pretty well… once I got my body to get over the anxious feeling. The last mile and a half was definitely a struggle though. I could tell I was fatigued and getting dehydrated but I was determined to get the run over and done. But it was definitely a huge mental battle to get there.

Tuesday – 4.03 Miles

Since I survived my 4 miler after my longer run the week before, I thought I would do the same thing this week. In all reality, I am going to have to reverse it once I start to officially train for Disney but this will help a little bit. It was a bit warmer than I would have liked but still pretty nice out. The run felt really good. I am starting to feel stronger even on my 4 miles runs now. I know I still have a lot of training ahead of me but 4 mile runs aren’t scaring me the way they used to.

Wednesday – 3.06 Miles 

With all the tough running done and out of the way for the week, I was left with my normal three milers. I headed out a little later than I had been as of late because I spent a portion of the day with my best friend. I was very pleased with my pace and am starting to wonder if I can manage a three mile run at a sub 9:00 pace.

Thursday – 3.02 Miles

I spent the day running errands with my best friend. So when I got home, I changed and headed out for my run. My legs felt heavy though so I thought I was running significantly more slowly than I was. But overall it was a good run. I didn’t have much too much down time when I got home before meeting a friend to watch baseball. It was, after all, Jeter’s last home game.

Friday – 3.05 Miles

Not going to lie… I was hangover… It wasn’t a bad hangover but after 4 drinks the previous night, it was enough. In case you didn’t know, I am a lightweight and rarely drink more than one drink if I have to run the next day… and even those days are rare. But a night out with a friend doing one of my favorite things caused me to throw caution to the wind. I knew waiting wasn’t going to make me feel any better so I decided to just lace up and get it over with. I was stopping at all the water fountains on the way out hoping it would help the slight headache… but it wasn’t helping at all. So on the way back I decided I just wanted to finish the quickly as possible so I skipped one of my water fountains. Oddly, I felt great and awful at the same time. I had a lot of energy and my legs didn’t feel as heavy as the day before but the headache wasn’t going away and I was feeling the effects of the hangover. There were no expectations of pace when I was done so I was gobsmacked when I saw my pace. It definitely could have been better but it also could have been far worse…

Saturday – Rest

Given that I have been getting closer to a sub 9:00 pace on some of the my three miles, I was partially tempted to go out for a timed mile to see if I could go sub 9:00 but, in the end, I decided against the idea. My mileage was where I wanted it for the week and I had hit my goal of 5 days for the week as well. An extra mile wouldn’t have hurt but since I am not used to running 20ish miles a week, it might be smarter for me to let my body get used to that for a few weeks first.

Sunday – Rest

I didn’t even consider a run. Instead, a day of Baseball watching was what I had in store. It was the very last game that Jeter would ever play and I wanted to see it. Plus I will hardly turn ever turn down a chance to watch a Yankee/Red Sox Game. There were also several other games that matter for playoffs so I was definitely paying attention to baseball for the day.

~~~~~~~

I am pleased with my week of training… I wouldn’t have minded getting over 21 miles for the week but my mileage was higher than the week before so that was really all that mattered to me for the week. It has been a long time since I have had two rest days in a row but I think it was good idea. Ideally, I should do the 8 miler today but it is going to be warmer than I would like for 8 miles. I really need this run to go well so I am going to wait until it cools just a tad…

2 thoughts on “Weekly Training Report: September 22nd – 28th

  1. Congrats on the 20+ mile week and the nice consistent paces. I can imagine it was hard to run after 4 drinks the night before. One or maybe two is okay for me, but anything more than that and I can guarantee the run is not going to be too much fun.

    • Haha… Yea… I rarely drink and can easily go months without any alcohol and this is part of the reason why. There was a point in the run where I wanted to be done more than anything which, I think, allowed me to have a decent pace and to skip water fountains. It was kind of one of those, “The quicker you go, the sooner you will be finished” kind of things.

Leave a Reply

