Weekly Training Report: September 15th – 21st

Sept 15-21

Monday – Rest

I started off the week with rest. I had some errands that I needed to do and there was a threat for rain all day. So I decided it would be a better idea to rest and do the whole adult thing and get some stuff done.

Tuesday – 7.02 Miles

It was a gorgeous day outside so I decided to go for the long run for the week. I felt pretty good throughout the run but could feel some fatigue set in towards the end of the run. The last mile was brutal and I had to mentally fight to stay with it. But once I got to 6.50 miles, I knew I was stubborn enough to finish the run. Lately, I have decided that finishing the run with at least half a mile to walk home as a cool down is a good idea. The weather allows me to do this right now so I am not sure if I will keep it up once the weather gets colder but for now it seems to be working well. During the walk home, I checked my data for the run. I was very pleased with my pace and hope that I can keep up the sub 10:00 pace on my training runs for this cycle.

Wednesday – 4.04 Miles

I am really loving the fall weather and am definitely starting to enjoy my early afternoon runs. Since the long run was done and out of the way for the week, I decided to do my 4 miler for the week. I actually struggled with whether or not I should do my 4 miler or not because it was the day before a race. But since I still hadn’t made up my mind about whether or not I was going to race for time, I decided to throw caution to the wind. I felt great during the run and am really glad that I decided to do my 4 miler.

Thursday – Oktoberfest 5K Race

It was race day! I had signed up for this race back in early July and was really glad that I did. I was eager to see how I would do in a 5K race that was not in the morning… since I typically run better in the evening. I went back and forth trying to decide if I wanted to run for time or not but in the end I decided to go for it. You can read my full recap here.  I had gone into the race with a time goal of being around 30:00 for the race but I ended up with a PR instead! It was a great race and I had a lot of fun with my friends.

Friday – 3.13 Miles

With my two longer runs and my race over for the week there was no pressure on my two remaining runs. It was a little warmer than it had been but I decided I wanted to run my “hilly” course. As you know, Chicago doesn’t really have hills. However, the park near me does have some inclines and a hill that is fairly short but steep… and I can loop it. I set a goal for myself to loop hit that hill twice. The first go at the hill I definitely felt but I felt stronger than I normally do after running up the hill. But that second loop wasn’t as spectacular and I felt it big time. In fact, it almost had me but I managed to finish the run up the hill. I think I need to add this hill to my weekly training…

Saturday – 3.02 Miles

I knew there was little to no chance that I would be able to run on Sunday so my last run of the week had to get done. It was a lot warmer and VERY humid out but it was also supposed to rain early afternoon and then continue through the evening. Once I got home from my hair cut and running an errand, I killed a little bit of time and then figured I should just head out. I definitely felt the difference with the higher humidity but luckily the clouds started to roll in and that helped to cool things off enough. I was really surprised by my pace when I got home since I thought the higher humidity would have slowed me down a bit… but guess not.

Sunday – Rest

I was up bright and early to go support someone at a CrossFit competition. I had zero idea of what to expect since I had never seen one before but I was massively impressed! I am now even more intrigued with CrossFit than I was before. This particular event was a team effort and from my perspective, the team was well matched. They all had their strengths and weaknesses but where one person had a weakness, another had a strength. So it is my opinion that it was a good team for the competition at hand. Each team had to complete three rounds of various exercises and there were 6 heats per round. My day was spent watching some pretty incredible athletes and freezing my butt off… Note to those who watch CrossFit competitions, there is a very good chance the even will be held outside… this never occurred to me so I didn’t have enough to keep warm. I had a wonderful day at the competition and it was topped off with dinner so all in all it was the perfect way to spend a rest day 🙂

~~~~~~~

The week of training was a good one! I have been feeling good while running and hope that it continues. This training cycle is already going better than the last one so I have some high hopes.

2 thoughts on “Weekly Training Report: September 15th – 21st

  1. Nice mileage for the week. It is interesting that you decided to do your 4 miler the day before your 5k and you still managed to PR the race! Maybe there is something to not tapering too much for a 5k? 😉

Leave a Reply

