August in Review

Aug 2014

My world kind of turned upside down at the end of July and the reality of that hit me like a ton of bricks on the first day of the month. I clung to the only thing that felt normal to me… running.

Mentally I was all over the place. I wanted to go into hiding and just mourn my loss. But I forced myself to lace up and head out. To come as close as I could to hitting my weekly and monthly goals. I needed the routine and I needed the sanity. Running has frequently been my escape… my way to work things out.

I had the support of my wonderful friends and family and I am so grateful to have so many wonderful people in my life.  But I needed the run and I am not sure I would have survived as well without it.

Aug 2014 Glance

I hit my main goal for the month… to run 20 days. And though I failed to hit my weekly goal of 5 days a week a couple of times (I am 0-2 on running in MI) but I still feel like it was a very successful month of running. My two trips to MI where I got to see family were definitely worth missing two running days. Family always helps.

Aug Yr to Yr

As for the mileage for the month… Highest ever for the month of August…. granted it was only by about 2 miles but I will take it. I had started to do some longer runs to prep myself for my Navy Pier training that I knew I would need to start in September. Having spent most of the summer consistently running lower mileage on any given day, I knew it would be best for me to start throwing in a few longer runs here and there. I didn’t want to lay out a plan but I sort of knew where I wanted to be by the end of the month.

Aug 2014 Avg

For the first time in a while, I kept my average above 3 miles for the month. I also managed to have my average pace drop below 10:00 for the second time… I am slowly but surely getting faster. I am not sure if it will stay this low once I essentially stop doing half mile intervals daily but I am feeling good. The pace is starting to feel a little more comfortable. To prep myself for the water fountains being turned off for the year, I have started to try to skip water fountains on at least one run a week. Even while doing that, my pace has still remained sub 10:00 so things are looking good.

~~~~~~~~

For the first time in a long time, I feel like my running is right where I want it to be. I do occasionally still need to struggle through a run but my ability to stick it out is getting better. I feel confident that I will be able to keep up the consistency that I have had over the past several months. My hope is to keep improving. I have always known that consistency is the key for me and I think I finally have it.

4 thoughts on “August in Review

  1. Glad to hear you are maintaining consistency. The increase in mileage should help you hold your faster pace indefinitely without too much additional speedwork. Maybe throw in a couple of fartleks here and there. Have you considered carrying water? I have started to carry water even in races.

    • I do carry water during some races… Especially if I plan to race for time. Once the water fountains are off I will also start carrying water with me when I run… But until then I am good with the water fountains 🙂

Leave a Reply

