Weekly Training Report: September 8th – 14th

Sept 8-14

Monday – 2.51 Miles

This run was horrendous… I headed out for 6.50 miles and well… clearly that did not happen. My body had other plans for the day. Throughout the day, I had been hydrating and I ate well but as soon as I started running, I knew something was off. I thought it might work itself out throughout the course of the run so I kept going. At the 1.50 mile mark, while at a water fountain, I knew I was going to have to cut the run short. At that point, I should have just headed home and settled for a 3 mile run but I decided to try for 4 miles. I reached my two mile turn around water fountain and I wasn’t feeling good at all. I was starting to worry that getting all the way home was going to be an issue. I started to run back but then I noticed I was no longer sweating… which never should have happened considering I had been hydrating ALL day and I was stopping every half mile for water. It also wasn’t THAT hot out. I had run in far warmer and more humid conditions without the issue I was currently having. As I neared the next water fountain, I noticed I was getting light-headed and I was starting to get really dizzy. I stopped at the water fountain and knew I had to walk the rest of the way home. Every runner has those really off days and I hadn’t had one in a while, so I just figured I was due. But at the same time, I had just come off a fantastic week so having to bail on a run just messed with me mentally quite a bit.

Tuesday – 3.02 Miles

After the run from the day before, I was dreading this run. I was anxious about it all day because I was so worried I would have another horrendous run. But I laced up and headed out. It wasn’t the greatest run but it was far better than the day before. I was relieved. The day before really was just one of those off days.

Wednesday – Rest

Despite a wonderful week of training the previous week, I had also not had a solid rest day. Instead the week had two active rest days. There is nothing wrong with active rest days but I felt like I needed a solid rest day with less walking. With the rain and high humidity, I figured it was a good day for it. Spending the morning with a girlfriend over coffee and the rest of the day with my best friend made it a wonderful rest day

Thursday – 6.54 Miles

My longer run for the week had been bugging me since my failed attempt on Monday. It was hanging over my head and I knew I needed to get it over and done with. I also sort of needed the ego boost. Luckily the weather changed and we had lovely cooler fall weather. So I headed out for my run in the early afternoon. I decided to do a small loop which is around 2.25 miles for one loop. Part of me was just curious what the loop was in length and the other part of me wanted to stay closer to home in case it was another bad day. Cooler weather means walking home a long distance after running is not the greatest of ideas. There was a strong head wind going north but I was feeling pretty good. I also wanted to skip water fountains since it was drastically cooler out. After my first loop, I knew I had the run in the bag and stopped worrying and just enjoyed the run. I purposely planned the run so that I had a short walk home to cool down just a tad. I was thrilled that the run went well. I was even more thrilled when I saw that the run was a sub 10:00 pace. I felt great!

Friday – Rest

I didn’t originally plan for the day to be a rest day but I had a few errands to run and the weather was icky for most of the day with on and off again rain. I also got some cleaning done at home. The weekend looked like perfect weather so I figured it was a good day for more rest.

Saturday – 4.04 Miles

I consider myself officially training for my 10 Mile race that I have in November, so I wanted to slowly build up my weekly mileage. Which means throwing in at least one 4 miler a week on top of my weekly longer run. I figured it was the perfect day for it. The sun was shining and it was a nice cool day. I headed out for my run along the lakefront trail and felt wonderful. It really was just a perfect day for a run. I was able to skip water fountains and I still managed a solid pace which I had no expected at all. I truly love fall weather running! Mommy surprised me by treating me to my favorite pizza for dinner too… Really a wonderful Saturday 🙂

Sunday – 3.12 Miles

Since I had to cut my run short on Monday and run only 2.50 I thought I would add an extra half mile to my three mile run. But I also knew that if I ran 3, I would still be where I wanted to be for the week with regards to weekly mileage. I figured I would just see how I felt. Well… I started out a little too fast and my last mile was also a bit speedy. I also really should have worn shorts instead of pants. I felt good but just didn’t feel like doing much more than 3 miles so I decided to turn it into a 5K. If it had been a race it would have been a PR… hmmmm…

~~~~~~~

Despite the early set-back in the week, I still managed to hit my goals. The run on Monday was horrible but it happens from time to time. I am glad that I was able to nail my longer run for the week and in all reality, it was probably better to have gone for the run in the cooler weather since that is more likely to be the weather I will run in for my race.

This week I have a 5K race with the WRCE on Thursday that I am really looking forward to. I actually have a chance to PR if I decide to go for it. Part of me wants to go for it later in the race season and just enjoy the race this week with my friends. But the other part of me knows how close I am and I kind of want to just go for it. I haven’t made up my mind and in all reality… I probably won’t make up my mind until Thursday.

Hope everyone has a wonderful week!

2 thoughts on “Weekly Training Report: September 8th – 14th

  1. I’m so sorry your Monday run went poorly, but you were really smart about paying attention to your sweating and listening to your body. Glad you made it home safely and that you were able to get in some good runs later in the week. Hope this week’s runs go well, too!

Leave a Reply

