Much Needed Weekend

There is something about being in MI that always makes me feel content. I am not really sure what it is but as soon as I am in MI, I just feel relaxed and content. Perhaps it is because I used to live there when I was younger. As a child, without any worries or obligations and completely carefree. We moved away when I was 6 so those feelings remained untainted my entire life. 

I had made these plans to go visit my aunt and uncle months before I got laid off. Since the trip was already paid for, I saw no reason to cancel. I figured the weekend away wouldn’t benefit me… and the alcohol probably wouldn’t hurt either. 

My aunt and uncle have a party every year. When they lived in the Detroit area it was a pool party but now that they have moved to the country, it is a barn party. My aunt and uncle have a farm now, complete with goats and chickens. 

The party title may have changed but it still a good time with wonderful people and there are still Jell-O Shots. 

I could tell when the train entered MI because I felt stress just melt away and I felt content for the first time in a week. The train ride was uneventful and I was pleasantly surprised by how easy it was. I had my kindle to keep me company and the beautiful scenery when I didn’t feel like reading. 

My aunt and uncle, though surprised by what happened, did not dwell on the news I had delivered. They support me in everything I do but I think they just instinctively knew that if I needed or wanted to talk about it, I would. Instead they suggested going to get a drink at their country club. To which I replied, “well, if there was ever a time to drink, this would be it.”

Thus started my weekend of drinking far more than I normally do. My aunt and uncle also have wonderful friends who showed up early to help set-up. As we are convinced there is a smart ass gene and it DEFINITELY runs in my family, there was a lot of laughing. 

The party itself on Saturday was a lot of fun. Great people and great conversation. I got to see some people I had not seen in a long time and it was good to connect again. It was even better to not worry about my situation and instead just be relaxed and content. 

I couldn’t have asked for a better weekend and it was exactly what I needed. I still have to face my situation but after this weekend I feel more prepared to do so. I feel like I can keep my emotions in check right now whereas I couldn’t before the trip. 

Family is always the answer 🙂 

4 thoughts on “Much Needed Weekend

  1. Glad to hear your trip to Michigan went well. Would be fun to visit a farm sometime – especially if there was a party involved! Anyway, glad to hear you are better prepared to move forward now after your trip.

Leave a Reply

