Strength Training Report: July 28th – August 3rd

10405586_10101041139709691_1740119352862267355_n
Tuesday – July 29th 

Day one of the new plan. It had been quite a while since I had done strength training. I had taken two HIIT type classes that worked the muscles but the last time I did strength training with any sort of regularity was February… I knew I had lost some of what I had gained while strength training December – February, so I opted to sort of ease back into the process. Since I was working out at home and only have two sets of dumbbells, I decided to use my 5 lb set. I know I CAN lift my 10 lb set but I also didn’t want to be TOO sore the next day. I definitely should have used the 10 lb set for the bicep curls because the 5 lb was just too light. I also opted to do my planks extended instead of on my forearms. I know that works the shoulders more but holy hell were my arms shaking. I thought I was going to face plant. Luckily, I did not but knew I wouldn’t be able to do a 4th set like I had originally wanted to. That’s what I get for taking 5 months off….

10533372_10101042246681311_6493482641890747766_n
Wednesday – July 30th

I was quite sore the next day, which I had expected. I know that most muscles have a major and minor focus. So I knew it would be almost impossible to NOT work the same muscles as the day before but I was hoping to make them the minor focus. I was pretty successful. Definitely needed to use the 10 lbs on the bent over row but oh well.

Lunges 15 – 15 – 15
Push Ups 15 – 15 – 15
Bicep Curls (10) 12 – 12 – 12
Dead-LIfts (5) 15 – 15 – 15 – 15
Squats (5) 15 – 15 – 15
Shoulder Press (5) 15 – 15 – 15
Calf Raises (5) 15 – 15 – 15
Friday – August 1st

Ooops… forgot to type up the workout on the day of so no pic…. I wasn’t really feeling motivated but knew I needed to do something other than just my run. So I did some basic but decided to use the higher weight for the bicep curls this time. 10 lbs is just a touch too much for me but the 5s were just way too light. The whole day was just a struggle for me in general after what happened on Thursday so mentally I just wasn’t into it.

~~~~~~~

It was not the week that I had envisioned for my strength training but I had also not planned on getting laid off… so my life is just a little off right now and I need to find a new schedule until I can find a new job. Everything feels like a work in progress at the moment.

2 thoughts on “Strength Training Report: July 28th – August 3rd

Leave a Reply

