2000 Miles

Last Thursday I hit a huge milestone. I crossed the 2000 lifetime miles threshold.

When I started this whole running thing, I had no intentions of being a runner. It never occurred to me that I would one day actually run over 2000 miles.

Looking back on my running history, my only regret is that the first year a half to two years I ran, I did not have a running log. I know that those years were the starting off point. When I somehow managed to stick to something that I used to think was just utterly insane. I have no idea how many miles I ran during that time. I have no clue how many days a week I ran. I just know that I got out there with some sort of regularity and did the best I could do.

I have come a LONG way since then. I never dreamed that I would have two half marathons or four 10 milers under my belt. The fact that I have started and completed over 50 races is shocking to me.

My “first” year of running… as in the first year I had a running log, I did not consider myself a runner at all. In fact, I think it was probably after completing my first half marathon that I actually started to think of myself as a runner. But, it was several months before I actually started to tell people I was a runner.

Now, over 4 years later, I have actually run over 2000 miles and I am still going. I have no intentions of quitting. After two very rocky years of running and one year of rebuilding, I finally feel like I am back in my running form. I am setting goals and I am hitting them.

I don’t know what the next few years will bring. I am not even sure what I want my running goals to be for next year (though I do have a idea).

All I know is that I will keep running. I will keep adding miles. And one day, I will be at 3000 miles.

You are a Runner

2 thoughts on “2000 Miles

Leave a Reply

