Q&A Wednesday

Why Did I Start Running?

There was no planned course. There was no planned distance. I had no race on the schedule. I didn’t set out with a goal to lose weight (although, I definitely needed to at the time). I had no watch. My “running” attire was completely wrong. I didn’t have a running log.

“I just felt like running” – Forrest Gump may have been on to something…

My running adventures started on a whim. One day I wanted to workout but it was so nice outside that I didn’t want to be indoors. So I decided a run was a good idea. And in hindsight, it definitely was. But on that day I seriously questioned my sanity.

I had never been a fan of running. In fact, I hated it. I used to say that I would NEVER run and I meant that with every fiber of my being. I thought runners were crazy and I couldn’t understand why someone would choose to run all those miles. The idea of a marathon was just the craziest thing in the world to me.

The only “gym shoes” I had at the time were walking shoes… they were incredibly heavy and all leather. In other words, horrendously inappropriate for running. But I laced them up and headed out the door to go for a “run”

I ran two blocks and was completely out of breathe. I knew I was out of shape but my goodness… I didn’t realize I was THAT out of shape. But something told me to keep going. I didn’t turn around and head home… though a huge part of me wanted to.

Instead, I ran for as long as I could and then I walked for a bit. Then I ran again. Then I walked. I kept up this pattern until I made it back to my apartment.

I have no idea how many miles I ran. I have no idea how many miles the total route was… although, I could figure it out now but I have chosen not to. I don’t even know how long it took me. All I know is that I kept going.

For some odd reason… this is a pattern I kept up for about a year/year and a half. I don’t know what made me going but I did. I remember being shocked each time I hit some sort of milestone…. The first time I ran 20 minutes without stopping, the first time I ran 3 miles without stopping, then 4 miles, then 5 miles, etc.

I fell in love with running… through the good times and the bad, the ups and downs, for better or for worse, I am a runner. But it did take me nearly three years to admit I was a runner…

I did not CHOOSE to become a runner… being a runner chose me.

Leave a Reply

