Weekly Training Report: June 23rd – 29th

Jun 23-29

Monday – 3.06 Miles

It was rather warm and humid when I went outside for my run. I saw a couple of the Condo Board members sitting outside so we chatted for a little bit. In all honesty though, I was putting off the run… The full sun exposure and humidity was not something I was looking forward to. I wanted three miles but told myself that I could cut it down to two if the heat started to get to me. I was pleasantly surprised as I started my run though. I was feeling really good and thankfully it was several degrees cooler along the lake.

Tuesday – 2.16 Miles

My mind wanted three miles but my body did not. I kept trying to fight for it but it just wasn’t going to happen. The humidity was pretty crazy and that just didn’t help… also probably did not help that I didn’t hydrate enough throughout the day… ooops…

Wednesday – 3.03 Miles

Today I was getting my three miles even if it killed me. Luckily it did not 🙂 It was also a lot cooler… still insanely humid though. Thanks to the polar vortex over the winter, the lake is still really cold so the warm air had been creating a dense fog and with winds off the lake, that fog got blown into my neighborhood. It meant the sun was hidden too, which always helps.

Thursday – 2.05 Miles

I wanted 3 miles again but after having walked into the work that morning, my legs were a tad toast. But I headed out with the intention of getting my three miles. A few blocks into the run, I calculated my weekly mileage and where I would be if I did the rest of the mileage I had mentally planned for myself… I would be a little too high for the week (given my weekly mileage last week and the week before) if I did three. When I reached the point to continue on for a three miler or turn and do a two miler, I made a last minute decision to do only two miles. While doing my two miles, I got to witness race set-up for a race that was apparently being held in my neighborhood that night… somehow it is a race I did not hear about either. Looked kind of cool though.

Friday – 2.17 Miles

The plan was two miles. Throughout the day the temps soared and the humidity did not let up at all. However, the winds were no longer off the lake so we no longer had the dense fog… both good and bad. I had not intended to run this one fast but when I got home and saw my pace, I was shocked. It certainly did NOT feel like I had been running that fast… which is definitely a good thing. So we are going to call this run speed work

Saturday – 1.07 Miles

Since the WRCE was heading to Milwaukee for a baseball game, I knew my only option was to run in the morning. I hate running in the morning… I was wide awake at 5:30 even though my alarm was set for 7:00… by 6:30, I gave up on  trying to go back to sleep and decided to start my run earlier than planned. After all, I wanted to eat a good and big breakfast before leaving for the game. The entire first half of my run felt horrible. My legs were dead and heavy and if you had asked me, I would have sworn that I was running a 12:00 pace. I hit the LFT Trail water fountain and turned around. Still wasn’t feeling it… at all. When I got home and checked my pace, I was shocked to see 10:15 because it felt like I was running a LOT slower. Perceived effort… interesting…

Sunday – 1.01 Miles

My original plan was to get up and run first thing in the morning to avoid the crowds from the pride parade. But I got to bed after midnight after tracking a teammate doing the death race this weekend. The previous day being in the heat and humidity wasn’t good either because I woke up with a massive dehydration headache despite my avoiding alcohol while with my friends at the game… Lovely. There was no way I was running in the morning. So I made myself coffee, breakfast and was a bum on my couch most of the day… Still tracking my teammate at the death race. It got really exciting in the late afternoon/early evening when we were hearing rumors (thank you DR live feeds for playing mind games with the spectators) but after we finally heard from the crew, I knew it was safe for me to go on my run and not miss any major news. I then quickly realized I should have forced myself to run that morning… Streets shut down and hundreds of pedestrians… I don’t even weave that much in races… But hey, I got it done.

~~~~~~~

It was a great week for training. I also did some strength training but didn’t track any of it. Strength training will be hit or miss for July and then I will jump back in for August and September to prep myself for the Spartan race I am doing at the end of September…. More on that at a later date.

I will also fill you all in on the Death Race that went on over the weekend either this week or next week (more than likely next week).

In the meantime, Mom gets into town this Wednesday!!!! So excited! I also have a half day of work on Thursday and a day off on Friday for the 4th Holiday weekend. No big plans for the weekend yet but looking forward to spending time with mom.

The last day of the run streak is Friday. Part of me wants to continue it but part of me also wants to take the pressure off and end it. I know I will need to start doing longer runs come August and I sort of want to start doing one longer run a week in July if I can fit it in…

Essentially my July running plan is a bit up in the air right now… I am just going to go with the flow for now and if I end the streak this weekend then it ends, if I don’t then I don’t. I have ZERO intentions of extending the streak for months but maybe for July… I don’t know. I will figure it out but I am 99% sure the streak will end after my run on Friday.

Hope everyone has a wonderful week!

Leave a Reply

