Review: CrossTown Fitness

On Saturday afternoon, the bloggers were offered a special treat. A chance to check out CrossTown Fitness for free! I was all in!

At first, I was under the impression it was actually crossfit… but apparently I cannot read… I blame several busy weeks and thus being tired :-p So I was a tad bummed when it was pointed out to me that it was more HIIT (High Intensity Interval Training) instead. I have been intrigued by crossfit for over a year but just cannot afford the classes. But since I have also been intrigued by the HIIT gyms popping up everywhere, I was equally excited.

I had a late night on Friday and was up early on Saturday for a run before my hair cut. I was perfectly content with my one mile run because I knew I would get a solid and effective workout later in the day.

Eric met me at my place and we headed over to the Halstead bus stop to go south to get to the West Loop, where CrossTown Fitness is located.

I failed to take any pictures because I am a bad blogger (or my brain wasn’t entirely functioning from lack of sleep) but Eric snapped the below pic of the space

CTF

We had arrived a little early so we were able to watch the end of the previous class. I was immediately nervous about having to jump on a moving treadmill… I attempted that ONCE back in my always running on the treadmill days and nearly flew off the back. Luckily I was holding on tight and there was someone else next to me who immediately hit the stop button… But yea… I was sort of freaking out (Spoiler alert… I did not fly off the back)

We were told to grab a Kettlebell and a set of free weights each. I wanted to challenge myself but I also wasn’t entirely sure what we would be doing so I was choose what I thought would be good. We then had a brief introduction. Our instructor was very energetic and encouraging and did a good job of explaining things… always a good sign.

The basics included the treadmill at an incline, two “strength” moves, another moved to get the heart rate up (think jumping jacks, high knees, etc). So overall 4 “stations” which we could through a total of three times. After the phase we did burpees (I loathe burpees). We had a few seconds to grab water before we moved on to the next phase which was the same concept but more challenging. The last thing we did was stretch

With that we started

We started off with the treadmills at 4% incline but on the next phase we bumped that up to an 8%. I choose to set my pace at my normal running pace and was determined to stick with it. The 8% was a huge challenge… especially the last round but I was able to gut it out.

We did a variety of different moves… I cannot remember the exact order but we did Kettlebell swings, plank rows into tricep extensions, jump squats, high knees, spider jumps (sort of like mountain climbers but far more challenging), squat shoulder press and a few others that I am probably forgetting.

I was dripping with sweat when I was done. The workout was excellent! I loved the instructor and thought it was awesome that she showed us to modify some of the moves if we needed to.

It was an awesome experience and I would love to go there again. Only thing I do not like is that it really isn’t all that close to my place. So not likely to be a place I go to all the time… although it is only about half a mile from my work so if I plan ahead then maybe…

I would highly recommend CrossTown Fitness!

Please note that I was not asked to write a review. I received the class for free but was not, otherwise, compensated. All views in this post are my own.

 

 

6 thoughts on “Review: CrossTown Fitness

  1. I’m glad you enjoyed the workout! I wish they had a location on the north side too because I think their classes are great (my gym used to have something similar, but the trainer left and they haven’t quite been able to replace him), but if you ever want to take a class after work let me know 🙂

    • It really was awesome! REALLY good workout too and I learned some things that I can use at home (once I purchase a kettlebell).

      Will definitely let you know about a workout after work. I just won’t be able to until after my mom goes back to TX.

      • Ooh yeah, you can get a really great workout in with a kettlebell.

        My groupon is good until August and I’ve been a little busy myself as of late, so no rush 🙂

      • Ok… I am not sure about being able to go until my mom is out of town… which is date she has yet to choose (but probably last weekend in July).

        She sometimes makes plans with friends and is gone for the evening so if that is the case then I can make plans. Just sort of need to figure it out.

Leave a Reply

