Locks of Love Hair Donation

This was my third time chopping off my hair to Donate to Locks of Love. People often ask me why or if I am scared when I do this.

Well, no, I am never scared to chop off all my hair. First of all, my hair stylist is wonderful and always does an amazing job. Second of all, my hair grows fast so if I don’t like it then I won’t have to deal with it for long.

As for the why… well… why not? My hair DOES grow fast. Plus I always go through phases where I want long hair and then I want short hair again. But I do wait to do the hair chopping until my hair is long enough to donate. So usually this means I need to wait a few extra months. Which is really not a big deal at all.

Plus, and most importantly, this is a wonderful cause and by donating my hair, I can help someone else out. Which brings me back to the whole, why not part. If you are chopping off that much hair (and you qualify for donation), then you should donate it.

Before I go any further, I have to send out a HUGE and very heartfelt thank you to my good friend, Jenni, who not only took time out of her day to go with me but also took pictures to document the process. I also want to thank my hair stylist, Julia, for going along with it and doing an incredible job like always. You both are awesome!

Before
The Before Shot

Now, when you donate your hair, it needs to be either in a braid or a ponytail so the first order of business was to get all of my hair into several ponytails… It was a fun look :-p

2 Hair 6-14-14 3 Hair 6-14-14 4 Hair 6-14-14

After that, we measured to make sure each ponytail was at least 10 inches. My hair is layered, so not every single strand was going to be 10 inches but overall is the most important thing. They need to the longest layer to be 10 inches. I ended up having more than 10 inches… most actually measured a foot.

Then we actually cut my hair. Julia, allowed me to do the first cut.

5 Hair 6-14-14

She took care of the rest and I had a nice little handful of hair

6 Hair 6-14-14 7 Hair 6-14-14 8 Hair 6-14-14

She started on my “cut” early, because as soon as she saw my name on the schedule books she knew what I was doing… I have done this before after all. And she had a quick bang trim before me. So while she went off to do that, I had this incredibly cute “in between” style :-p

9 Hair 6-14-14

I only waited for maybe another 10 minutes before we got my hair washed and it was time for the styling…

10 Hair 6-14-14 11 Hair 6-14-14

And the finished product

12 Hair 6-14-14

A close up

After

I admit that it feels weird. I have never had my hair THIS short before. But I really like it. My head feels so much lighter! It takes 2/3 the time in the shower simply because it takes so little time to rinse all of the shampoo and conditioner out of my hair. It also takes only a minute or two to style in the morning which is even less time than I needed for a ponytail and certainly less time than I needed for a braid… and don’t even get my started on drying and either curling or straightening my hair :-p

Again – Another huge thanks to Jenni and Julia!

6 thoughts on “Locks of Love Hair Donation

  1. Very cool that you do this. It’s for a good cause. As an added bonus you don’t have to spend so much time styling your hair in the morning. 🙂

  2. very cool, and it turned out so cute! And you’re right, if you don’t like your cut, it’s not like it won’t grow back – it’s just hair!

    • Thanks! I know so many girls who freak out about hair cuts… If you never get a good hair cut then you should probably try a new hair stylist…. Just my opinion…

Leave a Reply

