Locks of Love

One thing that many people may not know about me is that I love my hair. I have always believed it to be one of my better features. That being said, I also go through phases where I want my hair long and phases where I want my hair short.

Lucky for me, my hair grows quickly.

Several years ago, when I was still in college. I decided that the next time I chopped all of my hair off, that I would donate my hair to Locks of Love.

Locks of Love

This is a wonderful organization that takes the donated hair and turns the strands into wigs for children who may not be able to afford a wig and suffer hair loss for any number of medical reasons.

There are rules that must be followed if you are going to donate your hair.

You also have to donate a minimum of 10 inches. That is a LOT of hair. Since my hair grows quickly, it usually takes me about two years to grow my hair out so that it is long enough. To this point, I also have never feared chopping ALL of my hair off… and I do mean all. If I do not like the length/cut then it won’t take long to grow out enough to try something different.

If you bleach your hair, you cannot donate it. Usually, if you highlight your hair, it is bleached. I actually used to highlight mine until I came to the realization in college that the parents wouldn’t be footing the salon bills and this would become a cost I would have to incur (adulthood isn’t always all that it’s cracked up to be). But, I happen to love my natural hair color… so it wasn’t a problem for me to stop highlighting my hair.

Your hair also needs to be in a braid or ponytail and must be clean and completely dry… easy enough

Many salons will take care of sending the hair for you, but if not, do not worry. It is very easy to send hair to Locks of Love. My salon used to provide this service but has since stopped. My hairdresser knows that I grow my hair out to donate when I no longer want my hair short so she gave me warning the last time I was there.

Last time I chopped all of my hair off, I went with a Meg Ryan cut circa “You’ve Got Mail” or “French Kiss” and I actually kept it that short for about two years… which is the longest I have gone with short hair before. But I missed my longer hair and the ability to roll out of bed and throw my hair in a ponytail if I wanted.

But now, I am done with the long hair. Yes, I can throw it in a pony tail easily but it is heavy and hot and it takes forever for shampoo and conditioner to rinse out.

So a week from Saturday, I will be chopping off all of my hair to donate. It will be a drastic change. I already have the new do picked out… But you will have to wait and see 🙂

In the meantime, if you are planning to chop off your hair, please consider donating the hair to this wonderful cause. And if you don’t have 10 inches but still want to donate, they take hair that is shorter and then sell it to help cover their costs.

Please visit their website for more information here

Please note that all opinions in this post are strictly my own. I was not compensated for this post nor was I requested to submit this post. I do not have any affiliation with Locks of Love but I do believe in their cause.

Leave a Reply

