Boston Trip – Day 3

After brunch, we headed back to the Hotel so I could shower. We then figured out a game plan for the rest of the day.

We decided to take the T (Boston Train System) to Quincy Market. After checking with the hotel desk, we found out how to GET to the T. But once we got there… we were very confused…

See, you have to pay to use the train (duh). But the system was rather confusing and it took us a while to figure it out. And really, we weren’t the only ones struggling to figure it out because a few locals were also having some difficult. Safety in numbers, I guess. But eventually we figured out. Once the train arrived, we hoped on. But then realized that we didn’t actually swipe the pass we just paid for. Eventually, we figured out where we SHOULD have swiped the pass. But there was nothing preventing us from hopping on the train without paying. Weird system…

But they have the money anyway…

After a relatively quick trip, we arrived at our stop. We got a tad bit lost trying to find the Quincy market but eventually made our way over there.

We wandered around and did some shopping for a bit. It was a really nice day out so it was nice to be outside.

1 Boston 4-19-14

I did find one item that I was tempted to buy, but didn’t want to have to worry about bringing it home…

2 Boston 4-19-14
Hehe – Ain’t he cute?

Eventually, we had seen all there was to see at Quincy Market so we found a Starbucks to map out a new plan of action. We decided to go to the Cheers bar… because really, how can you be a tourist in Boston WITHOUT going to the Cheers bar.

5 Boston 4-19-14

I will admit, that even though I remember watching the show when I was younger, I didn’t really recognize the inside of the bar much. But then again, I was pretty young when that show was on and its not a show that I watch regularly on re-runs.

We got lucky and found three chairs at the bar to hang out at. So we stayed and enjoyed a drink. I chatted to the couple (I assume they were a couple) and found out that they were essentially in Boston for the same reason as me but they actually knew someone running. They were also HUGE Blackhawks fans. It was fun chatting with them about Hockey and I found out that they both play hockey. Color me impressed. I may be a runner but am fairly certain I wouldn’t be able to play hockey.

6 Boston 4-19-14 7 Boston 4-19-14
I didn’t drink beer but I liked the coaster!

Afterwards, we headed back to Boylston (which wasn’t far) so we could grab dinner.

Boylston was PACKED. Not only were a good number of Marathoners now in town but it was also nice out and the day before Easter. The BAA was also putting on a mile race and a relay event on Boylston near the finish line.

We tried to go to a few different restaurants but pretty much every place was “full” until 10:00 pm or later. This was a tad baffling because all the restaurants were empty when we went inside but I guess they all had reservations.

Needless to say, after trying two or three spots, we decided to head back to the hotel and grab food around there so we hopped in a cab. Not only was there Marathon traffic, but there was also traffic because the Red Sox game was just ending.

After spending some time in Boston, I am convinced the best way to get around that town is to walk…

We ate (luckily with no wait) and then headed back to the hotel. We all crashed VERY early. We all got up early for the race that morning and we also walked a TON. It was a lot of walking for me so it was definitely a lot for my parents. I also didn’t get my nap after the race (Running in the morning means I need to nap a few hours later… it’s what my body is used to) so I was very ready to crash.

And crash we did… I am pretty sure we were all out cold by 8:00 pm :-p

2 thoughts on “Boston Trip – Day 3

  1. When I was in Boston in February it was super difficult to get a cab, so I ended up walking around most places. Luckily, Boston is pretty compact. BTW, Only the exterior of the “Cheers” bar in Boston was used for the tv show. The interiors were shot on a studio set in L.A.

    • We actually didn’t have any difficulties getting a cab, luckily. But we did get stuck in a LOT of traffic.

      Haha – I actually did NOT know that about the Cheers bar.

Leave a Reply

