Boston Bound!

I am heading to the airport to fly off to Boston. Despite my insanely early flight time (which I choose), I am looking forward to the flight. Why, you may ask. Because my father was nice enough to not only treat me to the flight as a Birthday Present but also treated me to First Class. Yes, Folks, my father is awesome!

The first class seat, I am sure, will be far more comfortable to sleep in too. Luckily I sleep well on planes. Hopefully my excitement will subside enough to LET me sleep though.

This trip has been a year in the making. It was less than a week after the bombings that I decided I wanted to do this trip. Lucky for me, my parents are joining me so the trip really will be awesome. Plus I get to see at least one (possibly two) awesome lady while I am out there.

Words really cannot explain how much this trip means to me. What happened last year was emotional… to say the least. And I have no doubt that this year will also be emotional. But it is one year later and we are stronger.

I am excited to explore a city that I have never been to. Even more, I am excited to see Fenway Park… even if I am a die hard Yankee Fan… I will just have to stay a tad quiet about that this weekend. I also get to participate in a 5K.

I have always known that I would never qualify for Boston. I am just not that fast and what’s more, Marathon running is not in my running future. This 5K is the closest I will ever get to the experience of THIS marathon. And though it is a goal race for me, it is more than that.

This is my dedication to the events of last year and to all the victims. It is my thanks to all of the people that helped on that day and the days after. My true goal is to run the best race that I am capable of running Saturday.

It is possible that a non-runner won’t understand why I want to run this race for the victims and all those that have helped… But I know that there will be people who understand this.

I know emotions will be high over the next week. They already have been with the one year anniversary already behind us. But I will be amongst friends and family. And I don’t just don’t mean that in the literal sense. I will be amongst runners and loved ones supporting their runners. That is a family. It is a family that I am so very honored to be a part of.

There won’t be any posts until I get back. But you can count on a lot of posts about this trip when I do get back. Until then…

#weallrunboston #weruntogether #bostonstrong

2 thoughts on “Boston Bound!

  1. I hope you have a wonderful trip! Boston is a fun city and Fenway is a must for any baseball fan. I haven’t been there in about 10 years, but I really want to go back sometime.

    And I think running the 5k is a great way to soak up all of the excitement of the marathon! Good luck on Saturday!

Leave a Reply

