Weekly Training Report: April 7 – 13

Apr 7-13

Monday & Tuesday – Rest

After my run on Sunday, I was really worried that I was on the verge of injury so I decided I was going to take an extra rest day for the week and then attempt the longer run on Wednesday. Monday and Tuesday seemed like a good place to add in the extra rest days because the weather was really rather icky.

Wednesday – 3.40 Miles

This was a long run fail. I laced up and headed out for my 7 mile run. The first few blocks were rather painful but then things seemed to loosen up quite a bit so I thought I was all clear. But after about a mile and a half I started to feel pain again. It wasn’t excruciating but it was worrisome. When I stopped for water and then started back up again… let’s just say YOWZA. That hurt. After that the pain wouldn’t really go away. I knew I wasn’t running 7 miles. I considered running home and debated doing just that for about half a mile but I knew the smarter decision was to stop running and walk. Luckily for me, the weather was nice and walking home would not mean freezing… which also added to my decision to walk home. Had it been cold out, I would have run home.

Thursday & Friday – Rest

I wasn’t completely convinced that the pain I was feeling was an injury. Part of me wondered if the pain was caused by my shoes being at mileage. I was near 300 miles but had also done a LOT of walking in them as well. But I decided to air on the side of caution because I really didn’t to risk it. I would rather take the extra time off then keep running and have it be an injury which would sideline me for much longer. I did, however, walk about 4 miles total on Friday when I went to get my race packet. It was really nice out so I decided to walk to packet pick-up and home.

Saturday – Race to Wrigley 5K

The weather was wonderful on Saturday morning and I was excited about the race. I decided to run in the shoes that I plan to take to Boston with me. I figured if I didn’t have the pain while running in the race that the issue was, in fact, caused by shoes being at mileage. My theory was confirmed when I didn’t have any pain. I ran the race at a very leisurely pace though. It wasn’t a goal race and I was still a bit paranoid so I figured it would be better to run slower. You can read my full recap here.

Sunday – Rest

Because it was so warm on Saturday and all the buildings in Chicago are still blasting the heat like it is winter, I really didn’t sleep well at all. I was going to try to get a run in but I was just too tired. So instead I stayed on the couch and tried to sleep most of the day. I ended up not sleeping much because I was still too hot.

~~~~~

To say last week was not a stellar week would be an understatement. I still think I made the right decision in taking the time to rest instead of risking it. But it is a small wrench in the plan. I still have plenty of time before SF10 and really there wasn’t anything else I could do to prepare for the BAA 5K. So the timing was right.

This week has not been stellar yet either… the weather has turned back to icky… very icky… we got snow on Monday. I am sick of winter.

Heading off to Boston tomorrow and cannot wait!

2 thoughts on “Weekly Training Report: April 7 – 13

    • Thanks – It kind of comes with the territory of living in a high rise in Chicago during Spring/Fall. But it definitely sucks.

      Thanks! I definitely will!

Leave a Reply

