Weekly Training Report: March 24th – 30th

Mar 24-30

Monday – 6.01 Miles

This was a great run. I felt amazing during most of it… even when I started to fatigue a bit over the last mile, I still felt pretty good. I had opted to do about 4 miles of the run on the LFT and then I moved to the parking lot behind the zoo. It was COLD heading south so I wanted to get away from the water a bit. I felt so good during this run that I devoted an entire post to it.

Tuesday – 3.10 Miles

This run wasn’t as spectacular as Monday’s run. It was very cold and I had to gear up in multiple layers to get out there. The wind cut through those layers and chilled me. I felt decent during the run but really… I am over winter.

Wednesday, Thursday & Friday – Rest

I started to feel under the weather on Wednesday at work. Not quite a cold but I felt like I was on the verge of having a cold. So I decided to rest instead of run. I ended up going to bed at 8:00 every night so clearly my body needed the rest.

Saturday – Rest

I was originally going to run… just a nice and easy 3 miles. I met up with Eric to head to the expo to get our race packets. It was COLD and WINDY. The more time I spent outside, the more I lost my desire to run. By the time I got home, I knew there would be no run. I figured that another rest day wouldn’t hurt. It would be good to go into the race with fresh legs. So I ate pizza and watched Downton Abbey instead.

Sunday – Shamrock Shuffle Race

Race Day! I was excited for the race. Spring racing season has officially begun! Not only were me and 40,000 runners kicking off the race season but I was running for the Wurst Running Club Ever and would get spend a good portion of the day with friends. Is there a better way to spend a Sunday than running and hanging out with wonderful people? I think not. You can read my full recap here.

~~~~~

It wasn’t quite the stellar week I had envisioned. But it became clear that my body needed rest, so I rested. The weather this week is not looking good. We are supposed to get a lot of rain. I will NOT run in the rain when is it is this cold… just not going to happen. So I might be forced back to the indoor track one or two days this week. I really don’t want to do that but just don’t think I have a choice….

Hope everyone has a great week!

Leave a Reply

