Throwback Wednesday – Pumpkins in the Park 5K 2012

As my favorite race approached, I wasn’t really feeling it. The whole year of racing had been a slap in the face… and really… what was I expecting with the lack of training?

To top it off, I had not run since the Monster Dash race the week before…

I was solo for this race… which was an odd feeling after a year of racing with friends. But I was ok with that since I would be going home right after the race to shower and head over to a friends for a low-key Halloween party.

I lined up in my usual spot ready to run… but not really race. I didn’t really have any goals but I desperately wanted to run the whole thing with no walking breaks… which would have been a HUGE deal for me considering how the year had gone.

Overall it was a great day for the race… perfect fall weather. It was chilly but not cold and the sun was out. And luckily it was not as windy as the day before…

Despite my hope for running the whole thing… it wasn’t going to happen. I ended up walking a bit but I still ran more than walked and I tried to keep the walk breaks very short and to a minimum.

All in all it was a decent race. Not stellar but decent. After I crossed the finish line, a women approached me and thanked me for pacing her. She said that I kept a good strong pace that helped her through the end of the race. Who knew?

4 Pumkins 10-27-12  6 Pumpkins 10-27-12

My official time – 35:28 for a Pace of 11:25

Pumkins Race Results 2012

Leave a Reply

