Throwback Wednesday – Monster Dash 2012

The timing of this race wasn’t exactly stellar… I had run exactly 2 times since the Oktoberfest 5K… That is two times in nearly 5 weeks.

Eric discovered this race and was really excited about it. I signed up more as a “sure why not” kind of thing but the desire to actually RACE was minimal. Lucky for me (perhaps) is the fact that the the 5K portion was not officially timed.

We got to the race site far too early. Luckily it was a nice morning. The sun was out and it was a tad cold but not too bad. We wandered around a bit and checked out other peoples costumes. Eric then went to line up for the Half and I headed toward the start line to watch everyone start the half and then the 10K.

Finally I was able to line up for the 5K and we were off. Not a huge fan of the start of this race. The sidewalk is in bad shape. Eventually we wound our way to the Lakefront trail heading North. It was crowded but I didn’t care. I was not running for time. In fact, I ran/walked the race. One cool thing was they had buckets on candy on the course at various spots. A nod to trick or treating I am sure. But it was kind of fun to get excited like I used to when I was a kid.

Once I got closer to the finish line, I ran up the hill and sped up a bit… and then I came to a complete stop… Several feet BEFORE the finish line. Ummmm…

It was so crowded that I wasn’t actually able to cross the finish line. I stopped my watch because I didn’t really care about my time but there was no point in letting the watch run while I waited for the crowd to move. I would have been so angry had I actually been running for time or had I done the 10K or the Half.

Once I got through and actually CROSSED the finish line, I got my medal and grabbed a bagel and a bottle of water. I rather liked the medal at the time… even if I didn’t really have to work for it. I do like getting a medal for a 5K but still feel a tad guilty if I didn’t really work for it…. Which was a common theme with me and 5K medals for 2012

I didn’t have to wait too long for Eric… the 30 minutes (maybe 40… I don’t entirely remember) time difference between the half start time and the 5K start time helped… as did the little pile up at the finish line.

We didn’t stick around for too long after and made our way back to the bus to head home.

My ‘Official’ Time – 36:50 for a 12:20 Pace – My watch also indicated that the course was about a tenth of a mile too short…

 

One thought on “Throwback Wednesday – Monster Dash 2012

  1. Sounds a little rinky dink but still a whole lot of fun! At least you went into it with the right attitude.

    I’ve done two full marathons and one half, all of them at Disney World. The races are phenomenally run, but there are thousands and thousands of people that aren’t runners and just want to experience all of the stuff that Disney lines the course with. You can find these people taking photos with costumed characters along the route. It’s a great race once you get around them, but I’ve really gotta get better seed times so that I don’t get stuck in the same corral with them anymore!

Leave a Reply

