Training: February 3rd – 9th

Feb 3-9

Monday – 3.00 Miles & Lower Body Strength Training

This run was just ok. It didn’t feel great but it also didn’t feel horrible. For the Strength training, I upped the weight on a couple of exercises and had a really awesome workout. What I failed to realize at the time was that upping mileage and weight in the same week might not have been the smartest idea…

Tuesday – 3.00 Miles & Upper Body Strength Training

I struggled with this run and considered cutting it short. But as I was finishing up my 6th lap (I have been doing three sets of 8 laps… one minute rest in between for water) of my 3rd set my guilty pleasure run boosting song came on. So I was able to power through the last two laps. Then headed down to the weights where I increased weight on a few exercises. All in all, it turned out to be a really good workout.

Wednesday – 2.00 Miles & Lower Body Strength Training

Yea… this was where I had the realization that upping mileage and weight on the same week wasn’t so brilliant. I was just plain exhausted. My body just wasn’t having the run. So I stopped fighting it after 2 miles. I headed down to the weights and scaled back just a tad. With the fatigue I had going, I thought it was the smarter move.

Thursday – 2.25 Miles & Upper Body Strength Training

Again with the exhaustion. Perhaps the whole social butterfly lack of sleep thing I did over the weekend also wasn’t a smart move right before a week where I up mileage weight… yea… I really thought all that through. Two laps into my third set of 8s I could fight it anymore. I made the decision to finish out the strength training planned for the day but decided that I wouldn’t strength train as planned on Friday after my run.

Friday – 1.50 Miles

I attempted speed work… I was kind of worried that the cumulative fatigue I had going all week was going to make my plan of speed work difficult. After a one mile warm up, I knew my legs didn’t have speed in them. But I wanted to give it an honest go. So I walked the curves and sprinted the straights… and yea… it was not pretty… my 4 laps ended up being at about the same pace as my one mile warm up. So I threw in the towel. I knew going in that the workout would be hard but in hindsight, I think I would have been better off taking an extra rest day for the week. I went home and watched some of the Opening Ceremony for the Olympics until I was struggling to stay awake.

Saturday – Rest

I woke up at 6:30… 6 FREAKING 30… On Saturday. GRRRRR. I attempted to go back to sleep for an hour before I gave up. I made coffee and watched TV for a bit and started to make Breakfast… and of course as soon as I make breakfast, my friend text me that she was on her way over…. early… Ooops. She was nice enough to just chill with me while I shoveled in my breakfast. We then went to a coffee shop… or rather attempted to… Parallel parking was a challenge. Neither of us has a lot of practice and with the mounds of snow you had to get over before getting into the spot, it was a bit more difficult than normal. After we both attempted for a bit, we gave up. I was already in the driver’s seat so I drive us to the North/Sheffield area where we knew there was a Starbucks with a parking lot. After chilling there for a bit we moved to the parking lot across the street and wandered around looking at furniture and picking out things we both really want but cannot exactly afford. It was just like old times when we used to wander around stores together and were still in college. I cannot even begin to express how excited I am to have my best friend back in Chicago… and soon to be my neighbor as well. I then went home to take a nap before heading back out to Celebrate another friends Birthday. It was a fun evening just chatting with friends and meeting new people. But by 10 I couldn’t stop yawning so decided to go home.

Sunday – Rest

Woke up at 7:00… Which is better than 6:30 but really?!?!?! I chilled on the couch for a bit before going to meet a friend for brunch. Then went home and took a nap. I was mildly productive when I woke up and made my lunch for the week but then spent the remainder of the evening on my couch watching TV.

~~~~~

It wasn’t a terrible week of training… but I was hardly thrilled with it. I was just exhausted all week and couldn’t seem to get over that. Really hope that this week will be better.

Have a good week everyone!

Leave a Reply

