It’s Time to Admit It…

I originally had a different blog post planned for today but this one has been on my mind for far too long. Inspired by Anne, It’s time to come clean

I have gained weight

There I said it…

I am not really surprised by this fact. 2012 was just a horrible year of running and I was incredibly stressed for most of the year but I couldn’t run… so I turned to food (I know I know – Bad). Lucky for me, I gained weight at about the same pace at which I lost it… slowly… over the course of two years. I gained back approximately 20lbs of the 70lbs that I lost.

Now – In all reality, I do not care what the scale says. I am finally getting back into strength training so that number on the scale will matter even less. BUT what I do care about is how my clothes fit. A lot of my clothes are rather snug and some I just outright cannot get into.

I have always been an advocate of everything in moderation. And I still believe that. I lost 70lbs with that strategy and was able to keep it off until everything went to hell in a hand-basket. I also know that more often I work out, the more likely I am to eat more healthy. It is when I stop I working out consistently that the old bad food habits creep back in.

I feel like for the first time in years, my running is back on track. So if I can keep this up, then I know the healthier eating habits will follow. But that is not to say that I won’t still eat Ice cream or candy or pizza. I still will.

Last year, I did try to combat some of the weight I had gained but it just backfired. Despite knowing that as soon as I say I am not allowed to have XY&Z that is all I want and then I am more likely to binge XY or Z later, that is what I tried. So this time around, I am not going to cut everything out completely. But I will allow myself cheats.

I also feel like now that I finally have the nausea issues that I experienced while on birth control eliminated, that it will help BIG time with the food aspect. I did so much experimenting last year trying to figure out how to counter the nausea feeling with food and nothing worked but it also caused me to make some not smart choices more often than not because I just didn’t want that feeling. Then, I just started to fear running because I knew that feeling would come… and… well… snowball effect.

So I am putting it out there. Now that I have the running back on track, it is time to get the eating back on track.

But that’s not to say I won’t indulge at all – Everything in Moderation – Here I go!

5 thoughts on “It’s Time to Admit It…

  1. I hope you feel better getting this out there! I’m with you, the scale doesn’t matter too much as long as my clothes fit. I think you have a really good plan – I’m totally on board with eating in moderation and not cutting anything completely out. I cut down on the “bad” stuff, but agree, if you won’t allow yourself to have something, you’re just going to want it, and then feel bad if you do eat it.

    I wonder if any of the weight gain may also have been due to the birth control you were on? Those hormones mess with so many things! I stopped taking it a couple years ago b/c it was giving me migraines, but it also made me gain a little weight.

    • It is certainly not fun having to admit this… But I can’t really hide the fact either. And there is always safety in numbers 😉

      You know, it is possible that some of the weight gain can be attributed the BC… and goodness, I do hope that is PART of the issue. But I also DO realistically know that I was eating too much crap. So while I would love to place all of the blame on the BC, I also know that I am hugely to blame as well.

      • Yeah, I know what you mean. Like is it the medicine, or the giant bag of candy I’m eating everyday? 🙂 BUT it is possible that it made you crave more junk food, so it could still be somewhat connected.

      • HAHA – My version of PMS has ALWAYS been that all I want is candy… that has never changed. But I guess it is possible the BC made me crave sugar more in general

  2. Sounds like a good plan by allowing yourself to eat some of the “bad” stuff in moderation. I also find that the more I work out the healthier I eat. Good luck! 🙂

Leave a Reply

