One Crazy Weekend…

I fully understand that during the holidays everyone gets super busy. There are holiday parties left and right and Christmas shopping to do (or at least you are supposed to be doing Christmas shopping…) and… It’s just busy!

But this year, I decided I needed to add more to the mix. I decided to sign up for two races… in one weekend.

Initially, this was a brilliant idea to sort of prepare for what I have in store for Marathon weekend in Disney. But with an abysmal October in terms of training… followed by low mileage and more strength training for November and December… I am no where near prepared.

I signed up for the 10K for Saturday and the 8K (only option) for Sunday… I am feeling really overwhelmed. Not only are these two races alone about where my weekly mileage was last week (and remember the week before was zero) but I just know that I am not prepared for either distance. And add the distances together… yea… we are talking like past three weeks mileage combined…

To top it all off… Chicago will be getting snow tonight and through tomorrow… so lets just make this more difficult…

When I signed up (outside of the whole Disney Prep reason), I thought it would force me to keep my mileage a little higher… Yea… that happened…

I am going to try to downgrade to the 5K for Saturday and then just deal with the 8K on Sunday…for some reason an 8K doesn’t seem nearly as bad as a 10K…

After the races I have Holiday Parties to go to… Yes… Both days… During the day… and the plan, is to go to Zoo Lights on Saturday evening. So I have a VERY busy weekend ahead where I will be all over the place… and I really do mean all over the place

Luckily both races are a couple of blocks from my place… And really, that was part of the draw for the races. But the two holiday parties are no where near my place. Oh and of course pack pick-up is also all over the place too. One is at Fleet Feet (all three locations but I will go to Old Town) and the other is Belmont/Lincoln-ish area. And the latter is just a royal pain in the tushy to get to. Hopefully the snow will hold off until I get home at least…

After this crazy weekend, I fully anticipate crashing around 8pm on Sunday night…

Leave a Reply

