Training: November 18th – 24th

Nov 18-24

Monday – 2.00 Miles & Upper Body Strength Training

It was super windy outside and I had no desire to deal with that… so I decided to just walk to the gym and run there. Started off the treadmill and then did some strength training… Towards the end of the strength training I started to feel a tad guilty about only doing a mile so I ran another mile on the track. I am noticing my pace has slowed quite a bit… Not entirely sure why but I am not too worried… I have no intentions of running for time until probably April

Tuesday – 2.56 Miles

By far the best weather day of the week so I decided to take advantage of it and go for a run outside. I didn’t really have any goals… just wanted something between 2 and 3 miles. Decided to run my favorite park route which included a handful of hills (by Chicago standards). It was a decent run and I was feeling decent after the run. I partially think the pace might have to do with it taking longer to warm up once I start running… Not sure though… Meh

Wednesday – 0.80 Miles & Lower Body Strength Training

So, I had fully intended to do a run to/from the gym but I ran into a gym buddy (someone I have chatted with at the gym off and on for years but hadn’t seen in a while at the gym… probably because I hadn’t been there lately) and we started to talk and he offered me a ride home. Which I accepted because my Achilles Tendonitis seemed to have flared big time that day. But still got in a very good strength training workout so not all was lost. And keep in mind… the whole goal is just to run at least 4 days a week… so I was still doing my part even if it was less than a mile…

Thursday – 2.00 Miles & Upper Body Strength Training

With Slushy snow falling… there was no way in hell I was going to run outside. I started off the run with a mile jog around the track. Was rather angry with myself since it took me 11:00 minutes. So while Strength training I decided I wanted revenge… hopped on the treadmill and got it… But it hurt. Considered upping the weight for the strength training but decided against it since I wouldn’t be hitting the gym this week.

Friday – 1.00 Miles & Lower Body Strength Training

High Wind and REALLY cold… Yea… Again with the no running outside thing. Also not too concerned with mileage for the week, I settled in for a mile on the treadmill. Then decided to hike up that incline as high as it would go for 10 minutes… I figured if it was leg day at the gym then I should do something to make the legs work harder.

Saturday – Rest

With my parents getting into town the next day and quite a few errands to run, I needed to be productive. Got all the errands done with just a little time to spare before meeting up with friends and going to the Festival of Lights (since Book Club was canceled because the host has the flu). I had never been before so I was excited. After freezing our butts off, we went to grab dinner.

Sunday – Rest

Yea… Productivity wasn’t as high as it should have been in the morning… but my bed was just too comfy. Managed to get the tree up and about 2 strands of lights on the tree before the parents arrived and we watched the bears lose then grabbed dinner. Returned home and got the rest of the Christmas decorations up and all 6 strands of lights on the tree.

~~~~~

It was a good week. Really glad I got in 5 days of running. The 4 days of strength training felt amazing. My pace is slower but I hope that is temporary until my body adjusts to running and strength training… I probably should throw in some actual speed work at some point too…

Don’t anticipate too much running this week with the parents in town and then us heading to MI but I will bring the running gear with me and you never know. Kind of bummed I won’t be running a turkey trot this year but really excited to spend Thanksgiving with my family in Michigan

Hope everyone has a great week!

4 thoughts on “Training: November 18th – 24th

  1. Nice workout week. I can’t believe you stood outside for the Festival of Lights it was so cold that night. Hopefully, you were able to move around a little to keep you warm! 🙂

    • Thanks!

      Yea – We were all VERY cold. Luckily we stood at the very start of the parade so it was over and done with for us after maybe 45 minutes… which helped a LOT. Hopefully next year it is warmer…

  2. That’s cold, I don’t know that I could live somewhere that cold. Sydney never gets below freezing. I suppose it’s what you get used to and the clothes you wear but still brrrr. It also means your training becomes much more seasonal, so I guess it’s time for you to work on strength and do intervals on the treadmill. There was one thing I learnt from a personal trainer on the treadmill and that was to use the incline to make it harder more often than the speed.

    • I actually don’t mind running in the cold so much. It just means I need to layer up a bit.

      I also always run on a treadmill with at least a 2.0 incline… my knees cannot handle the treadmill without an incline.

Leave a Reply

