Throwback Wednesday – Strike Out ALS 5K 2012

This race entered the radar because Eric found it. It is for a cause that is near and dear to his heart. Since Chris, Eric and I all like baseball it was easy for us to commit to the race.

For those who do not know (or for those who missed my re-cap of the race from this year), the race starts outside of US Cellular Field (where the White Sox play) and after going through the parking lot, we enter the stadium and finish on the warning track on the field. Pretty cool to finish a race there. After the race, some of the concession stands are open and the All Star game is broadcast on the jumbo tron for us to watch from the seats.

We also got our friend Curtis (also a huge baseball friend) and Rhoda to join us so we had a nice little group.

This is a July race and is held in the evening. And yes, it was a hot one (though not as hot as this past year). I brought my race stuff to work with me and changed there before heading down to the race site… where I was REALLY early and killed lots of time sitting in the shade before Eric and Chris arrived. Rhoda and Curtis were not too far behind them. We did gear check and killed some more time chatting away and such. We lined up and without much fuss, we were off.

Now, it is also no secret that last year was not a good year for me in terms of running. I still hadn’t really gotten back into a good groove and the heat that we had to start off the month of July did not help.

Needless to say, I went into this race not expecting much in terms of time.

I did alright for the first mile and a half but then the sun and the heat got to me and things just went downhill from there. The rest of the race was run/walk intervals. I also was not feeling the greatest.

After I crossed the finish line, I found Eric, Chris and Rhoda. We waited for Curtis to finish and then got in line for some food before finding a seat in the stands to watch some of the all star game.

It was fun but once it started to get late, we decided it would be best to leave. Rhoda was nice enough to give us all a ride home. All in all it was a fun evening.

Leave a Reply

